Authonomy Showcase

Posted: 07/10/2010 by C. Matt Hewes in About Writing
Tags: , , , , ,

The uncut version of my Showcase on Authonomy:

authonomy Showcase: C. Matt Hewes

Cover fragment: ©Luis Rojo
Name C. Matt Hewes, AKA Dutch

Location North West England (Cheshire), originally from the south of Holland (Netherlands. ‘Holland’ is also a place somewhere in the US…).

Occupation Systems Analyst and many more before that, varying from Maintenance Engineer in a non-ferrous foundry to Janitor in a nursing home for elderly Alzheimer patients, to certified Landscaper.

How long have you been on authonomy?
Since 9th April, 2010

How do you use the site – are you a reader or a writer?
As a writer; I promote my firstborn Tee’Rha here and have had some good, helpful advice to make it linguistically better. I’ve also had my second novel up here for a while, but I decided to take it down as it’s still a WIP, and any comments/suggestions to it would/could distract me from writing the raw completed work.
In the mean time I try to read and (occasionally) comment on other’s projects too. I know there’s many a discussion in the Forum whether or not to comment; I tend to comment if I find flaws, either small or big. If I back but don’t comment, I just like the ms, that should be enough (I don’t send every published author whose work I like an E-mail to tell them either…), and I don’t want to sound like a parrot repeating someone else’s words…

What are you working on at the moment?
Currently working on my second work; J’adeen – Quest for Earth. It’s the sequel to Tee’Rha, in which J’adeen, son of Matt Corey, the MC in Tee’Rha goes on a never before attempted journey to Earth in the hope to find his Father’s family, and to learn of his Human roots. Part 3 is currently in planning (notes) stage.

How does writing fit into your life? When do you make time for it?
How does it fit… it doesn’t. I make space for it. Being at work full-time, staring at a computer screen all day often results in not feeling like writing once I get home, due to it all being on-screen as well. When do I make time for it? I manage to get some writing done mostly every day, even if it’s just 600 words. If I’m not writing, I’m editing, or playing in the authonomy sandpit (read: forum), or a combination of aforementioned. I’ll always have my work opened and ready to write/edit/polish.

Describe to us where you write…
I have a magnificent large, retro desk (one of those you see in the oldy-worldy 30’s and 40’s movies, completely made of wood; the only metal you’ll find in it are 2 or 4 screws to keep the desktop in place), which is in use by my partner… She does a lot of card-making, playing with stamps and what else crafty have you. Hence, ‘my place’ is the kitchen table, or the sofa. I’m not too bothered, as long as I can listen to my music and write, it’s OK. Maybe, in future, when we can afford a bigger place, I’ll have me desk back… Till that time, I’m on the outlook for one of those old-fashioned, backwards slanting chairs; the one Granddad used to read the papers in..

What are your ambitions as an author, what would you like to achieve?
I’d love to be a full-time writer, of course with the pay slip to go with it. I’d be a liar if I’d say I didn’t want to earn from it. My mother told me when I was a youngster in the regions of, well… eight or nine years old, that my imagination was too big for my head (I think she meant that my ‘white lies’ were too good to be true…). She kept reminding me of that through the years, but little did I even think to write them down. It was much ‘cooler’ to hang outside, trying to impress the girls… I think the best motivation however, comes from my partner. Somewhere in ‘the past’ (a couple of years ago), I wrote a couple of pieces, really nondescripts, she read them and liked my method of writing. The biggest pleasure I get from writing is when readers are, part from being interested, amused. That makes my day; to have my writing liked and be able to produce a smile on a face…

Which book on authonomy should we all be reading?
Without any doubt: Paul Dayton’s The Eye of the Idol; a well knitted, intriguing piece of work, taking you as far back as the 1600’s, only to take you on a journey to the early 1900’s. Even though it isn’t really a genre I’d go out and buy, Paul’s ‘Eye’ would be the great exception to the rule, and would get a place of honour on my book shelf…

Leave a Reply

