Dizzifying…

Posted: 20/02/2011 by C. Matt Hewes in About Writing
Tags: , ,

Recently, I’ve started researching the History of Scotland, more in particular the Clans. All to aid me in a new project I’m working on. What I’ve found out sofar is, that, for example, my partner is a far descendant of one of the septs that fought alongside William (Braveheart) Wallace, as members of the Lamont clan. Better watch myself… wouldn’t want to lose me head 😎

It’s really dizzifying (did I just make up a word?):

When you start digging into the Clans’ History, you soon start learning how rich but at the same time violent Scots’ History really is. Where one would think the Clans have something unmistakingly Scottish about them but nothing is more true; most of the notorious Clans were of French descent, or dwelled down on Scottish grounds for Denmark (Picts), Germany (Saxons) and even the Norwegian (Vikings) are well represented in their History. Surprisingly, even the clog wearing Dutch are represented in Scotland’s history (though I doubt they’d be wearing clogs in the Highlands…), and it is said that even H.M. the Queen finds her roots in one of the older Clans. However, most of the Clans find their ancestry in Ireland (Celts). The all well-known word ‘Clan’ comes from the Gaelic, or more specific, Irish Gaelic ‘Clann, a Chlann, Clainne’, meaning as much as ‘children, offspring’. I really need to start learning Gaelic, methinks…

Don’t get me wrong, I’m not trying to reinvent the wheel here, I’m just completely blown over by the grandeur of their history and I really need to get to the depths of it if I am to remotely understand all of it. I do want my project to be anywhere believable…

Just thought I’d share my admiration for this ten thousand year old Culture…

Comments
  1. Bruce says:

    Good luck with your project! Just one thing, you might want to check some facts, for example in the above you seem to imply that the Picts were Danish… assuming I have read it right! If I have then maybe you need to reconsider your source; there’s a lot of misinformation out there!

Leave a Reply

