Star Warped..

Posted: 28/01/2012 by C. Matt Hewes in Bits 'n' Bobs

Do you ever have the feeling you just don’t want to move…at all? It happened to me, yesterday afternoon..

The most productive thing I did yesterday was defrost some bacon, and chop some tomatoes and mushrooms for tea, apart from that, nothing, nada, zero..

By 3pm, I was completely done with online job-hunting, checking my E-mail (for the umpteenth time) and sending out applications, most likely for positions I’d already applied for (see previous post, Lost in the Forest).. To break the mold, I decided to put on a movie, Star Wars, to be precise. Episode II as I’d watched Episode I the night before and thought it’d be nice to re-acquaint myself with the whole story, and I wasn’t exactly in the mood for heavy psychological dramas (I do watch ’em, ocasionally). The ulterior motive was to empty my mind (some, if not many of you, will agree Star Wars to be the ideal stuff to go into a state of mind-numbness; I can’t concur after yesterday..) but instead I got engrossed in the story, and ended up watching Episodes II through to Episode V..

WOT? Yes.. Twelve hours of Star Wars (include a pause for tea, and Corrie for the Missus), and I was very tempted to put Episode VI on too, were it not that the clock was showing 03:15 (I’ll have to put it on today, somewhere, just for completeness). And you know what? I enjoyed it! OK, so I’ve seen them all before, but you have no idea how little of what you’ve seen, movie wise, sticks in your memory; Many a time did I think: “Can’t remember this bit..”. Of course, I’m not referring to the Star Wars buffs, who watch the movies on a daily basis, but to people like me, who watch a movie back like, less than once a year (if not five..).

At first, I thought the transition from ‘Star Wars New’ (Phantom Menace et al) to ‘Star Wars Past’ would be rough, with the techniques used for the prequels being of such higher calibre than the ‘rough edge’ technology used in the first two I watched, but I was gladly surprised to see the transition wasn’t all that bad.. I noticed slight blips in the frames when the light sabers were ‘fired up’, and the (physical, not the story) pace was slightly slower in the two ‘originals’. I uderstand the olden epsiodes have had a bit of a digital face-lift, with added CGI an’ all that but you can’t change the speed of a film without it being noticed (methinks…)

So did it empty my mind? No. Instead, I ended up being completely engrossed in the story and knitting the stories of the different Episodes together. And however intense it seems, it was, in its own weird way, relaxing. I never even dozed off, not for a single minute, which is normally the case, however briefly..

All in all, I just enjoyed not having to stare at my laptop, virtually all-day-long, and not having the urge to frantically check my E-mail, every time the ‘New Mail’ tune sounds..

I think it’s valid to deduct that, after yesterday, I’ve officially been Star Warped…

Comments
  1. J Lawrence says:

    I’ve just returned from a lovely, relaxing holiday in the Alps to find I’ve been awarded the Liebster (Loved / Beloved / Favorite ) Blog Award by the wonderful http://dianemdickson.wordpress.com This award is to recognize bloggers who have less than 200 followers and aims to give them something of a deserving spotlight. There are some guidelines that have to be followed while giving or receiving the Award.
    The rules for receiving the award:

    Thank the giver and link back to the blogger who gave it to you.
    Reveal your top five picks and let them know by leaving a comment on their blog.
    Copy and paste the award on your blog.
    Hope that the people you’ve sent the award to forward it to their favorite bloggers and keep it going!

    Liebster Blog Award!The five blogs I would like to nominate for the award are (in no particular order)

    http://envisioningutopia.wordpress.com

    http://josephpinto.wordpress.com

    http://hettyfrancis.wordpress.com

    http://dldzioba.wordpress.com

    http://cmatthewes.com

    All of these I enjoy reading, for various reasons. I’m still relatively new to blogging, and on some of these blogs I can’t see if they have more than 200 followers, so apologies if that’s the case 🙂

Leave a comment